How To Cook Ribs in the Oven

Hey ya’ll!

Ok so everyone knows I’m a country girl! And us country folks love a barbeque. I wanted to grill because it’s so beautiful and pleasant outside today in Atlanta. Well the mosquitos must of thought so too because they bit me up just from walking into and out of the grocery store. Anyway, I have never cooked ribs before and decided to give it a try today…but uhhh indoors. So I cooked them in the oven.

image

I got spare ribs (from Kroger for $11!!!!), Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce, and used seasoning that I already had.

Preheat the oven to 350°. So there’s this white stuff one the back of ribs that you need to remove because apparently when it’s cooked the texture is horrible. So I took that off, and that was the hardest part off the process because it don’t wanna work with me.

After that clean your meat. Then season it with whatever you like. I used salt, pepper, seasoning salt, onion powder, and garlic powder. Rub the seasoning on both sides.

Put your meat in a pan bone side up. I had to cut my slab in half and use two pans because it needs to fit. Cover the pan tightly with aluminum foil. Cook im the oven for 1 hour. Then take the ribs out, pour off the juices, cover them in whatever BBQ sauce you like and put them back in the oven uncovered for 1 hour. Take them out when done and let them sit for about 5 minutes before cutting. Enjoy!!

image

I paired my ribs with red potatoes (mashed) and cabbage. The ribs were SO tender and juicy and flavorful!

For those of you trying to lose weight like me…remember, this is all about portion control. The picture above was not my actual plate. That was before I cut the ribs. Eat 3-4 ribs max, and load up on veggies! Who says getting in shape had to be bland!? : )

7 thoughts on “How To Cook Ribs in the Oven

  1. Sounds scrumptious! I’m like you. A not so thin country girl and I do love ribs! I always forget about cabbage. There’s just so much on a head when you live alone.
    I’ve never cooked ribs at home so I’m gonna have to try me some.

Leave a Reply

